My review of Parting Burden by Sinead MacDughlas

ebook cover(1)
I volunteered about a week ago to read and review Sinead MacDuglas’s new upcoming novel ‘Parting Burden’. I’ve done a few of these now, but never have I been touched as much as I was with this novel. It was an absolute honour to have read it, and if I was asked to do it all over again, there wouldn’t be a snippet of doubt in my mind.

Before I get on with things, I’d just like to say that this book is HUGE, and yet unlike so many other massive novels before it, each and every word has it’s place and is needed within the story.

So for a start let’s get you introduced to Sinead.
P.S the links to Sinead’s various Social Media sites will be at the end of this post.

302745_415860891817663_1206200759_n

Sinead MacDughlas is a multi-genre Canadian author. Born in 1970, she has spent most of her life in the province of Ontario, moving from dwelling to dwelling. After forty-two of those moves, she finally gave up her gypsy-like ways, and settled into a modest home, in a small town north of Toronto.
Sinead lives with her husband, their M&Ms, (Miss Monkey and Mr. Monster), and her live-in editor/cat.
Her days are spent on various social media sites, between mommy duties, and her evenings writing her way through insomnia.
Parting Burden is Sinead’s fourth individual book, and third in her Secret Connection Collection.

And without further ado, here it is!
So I’m not big into giving away spoilers in reviews. I don’t really like reading spoilers because, well… They spoil the book. So if you’ve come here looking to find out exactly what happens in the book, you aren’t going to find it.

This book is truly is one of those page turners that you just do not want to put down! I started reading Parting Burden two days ago, and have already finished it! This is a monster of a book, and I just could not let it sit.

Right from the start, I was captured by the characters that weave throughout the novel. I felt like I was right there with them through everything. At one point I even felt like I WAS them. I was completely and utterly engrossed. Mel finds herself heading home, but it’s not for any reason that one would want to go home. Once there the emotions start pouring out and I felt every single emotion she did, and I would do it all again in a heartbeat.

Much to the amusement of my fiancé, I even did the ugly cry. You know the one…The one that makes you want to stick a knife inside and twirl it around just to pull those emotions out so you don’t have to see the incredulous look on the faces of whoever is around? Yeah, that one! You will probably all have your favourite crying moments as well, but for me it wasn’t really any one thing, it was several small things. Especially the small pieces of dialogue, and certain things that Mel had to witness her Nana go through that brought about memories of my own, that had my bawling like a baby.

 RealityTVGIFs animated GIF

Parting burden has everything a reader could want, and I have to say that I want more! Once you get your hands on this amazingly written novel, you are going to want more as well. I can’t wait to read more from this author, and I will be hanging on the edge of my seat for her next book to make an appearance.

And now for the links!

You can find Sinead pretty much everywhere, but I’m going to list them here for easy convenience.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SinMacD.Writer

Website: http://www.author.sinmacd.ca/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SinMacD

Google: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+SineadMacDughlas/posts

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Sinead-MacDughlas/e/B0074CIPV8/

Shelfari: http://www.shelfari.com/sinmacd

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22878227-parting-burden?ac=1

 

Leave a Reply

