Author Interview with Enjay Taylor

It’s that time again, another author interview. I love getting to know more about the authors that I adore, and I’m so happy that Enjay Taylor – Also known as Nicolajayne Taylor, agreed to participate in this author interview for me.
Enjay is one of the wonderful authors over at Crushing Hearts Black Butterfly Publishing, and published under the Hot Ink brand.

So let’s find out a little bit more about Enjay, her life, loves, and what’s next.

My name is Nicolajayne Taylor. Friends call me Enjay as a nickname from being a teen. I was born in the Ribble Valley in Lancashire in 1981 and grew up on the Merseyside coast in Southport. I later moved to Blackburn when my mother became ill and needed a carer, this was also when I turned my hand back to writing. It has always been a favourite hobby of mine. When my mother died at the beginning of 2014 it was then I knew I had to go for it. She always wanted me to be a writer. I am honouring her dreams for me and have become a full time writer. 

10603509_274128606122658_2789286878187779842_n

A British gothic erotic horror author who has a taste for history, graphic and passionate scene and detail. Quick terrifying tension that makes you squirm in anticipation for her characters and their adventures. Spookery that will make you think twice about turning out the light… Come and join the darkest word and lose yourself to her seductive Villains.

10580941_270719156463603_8132228117088659719_o

What inspired you to write your latest work in progress?

My Mother. She died at the beginning of 2014. I went into overdrive and my muse took over. It got me through a really tough time.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I think that my writing style is a mixture of modern and classic. I am a British author and I love reading other British works. This all contributes to my style. I like fast paced and graphic scene to read and therefore that is what I write.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Acceptance! Don’t be afraid to be different. You can be, kind and loving as well as strong willed and minded. Consideration for others and the world around is another aspiration I have for my readers.

Are any of the experiences in your latest work based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Metaphorically all my stories are based in truth. Like butterflies, people and books have many different colours and characteristics. I believe that analogy can be a great way for the reader to relate to the plot and character without knowing my own personal meaning within my writing.

What books have most influenced your life most?

The books that have influenced me the most are Edgar Allan Poe anthologies. Graham Masterton’s The Devils of D-ay. Barbara Erskine, House of Echoes and many more and too many to list.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I would instantly say, Graham Masterton, even though he probably wouldn’t agree if he read one of my stories. But I hope if he ever did and like them that he would be proud.

What book are you reading now?

Right now I am reading the anthology that I have a short story featured in called The Fallen Ones. It’s edited and also featuring Carmilla Voiez and many other talented authors from around the world. It’s called Bloody Sexy and its hot!! I love the poems and also the other author’s stories that have done a fantastic job.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Fox Chapman has recently caught my interest, his writing is very good on the samples that I have seen and I am looking forward to his soon to be released called Divine Atrophy and its dark horror that I love, so it is on my wish list.

Are you currently working on anything?

I have a prequel to The Curse of Mary. I have two short story series that I am working on and maybe a third.

Name one person that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Mr Daniel Hurst, he has been a friend of mine since high school and he even helped me with some cover art for one of my titles. He has always been a close friend and I love him dearly. I wish him all the love and luck in the world as he is due to embark on a new venture owning his own clothing company.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

There answer to that is No. I would have changed the circumstances that lead me to write my latest book but not the story or the way I went about getting it published. I am very grateful to Sarah Jayne Davis, owner and director of Vamptasy Publishing.

How did your interest in writing originate?

As a child, I wanted to escape some of the things that happened in my childhood and wrote stories all the time as a way of closing myself from the things that I didn’t want to deal with.
Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I find that I have too many stories and characters going around my mind and I can’t write them down fast enough.

Who is your favourite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

As you can guess from my previous answers that I am going to say Graham Masterton and the reason being is, that he covers so many different cultures. He really homes in on his character, makes them come to life and you feel like you know them instantly. His story plots are thick with twists and turns that you wouldn’t expect.

Who designed the covers?

If Vamptasy go with the cover I already have for The Curse of Mary then Mr Daniel Hurst, designed the cover art. If they don’t use that cover then the jury is still out.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Making sure that every character has the right amount of detail and point of view.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learn a lot of thing when writing all my stories as I do extensive research into my subjects, mythology, locations and history

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Research!!!! And plot! I find a lot of stories these days focus more on the characters and their exchange with each other than a good story line.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Enjoy the escape into another world every time that you pick up a book. Submerse yourself complete amongst the characters and feel the world around that has been created.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your latest novel to life?

The mathematics for sure, my book is set in the 1400s and I had to get my ages right. Also making sure that the lives of the character reflected the age in which they were set.

What genre do you consider your novel?

Historic Gothic, erotic horror

Do you ever experience writer’s block? If so, how do you overcome it?

Writers block, I suffer frequently. I switch off and go into editing!

Do you write an outline before every book you write?

Hardly ever, I am a free style writer and just writing straight from my mind as much as it will let me. I occasionally make notes and tags.

Have you ever hated something you wrote?

Lots of the stuff that I have written is crap. I think what most writers need to learn is that the majority of what they write is crap but the up side is experience and practice… It’s only going to be once in a hundred stories that you will get something worth publishing.

What is your favourite theme/genre to write about?

It has to be historical. Mythological or paranormal, I love writing erotica and weaving it into all my stories.

So there you have it! A little more insight into Enjay Taylor, of course if you want to know even more, or just want to support Enjay, you can find her links below!

https://www.facebook.com/NicolaJayneButterflyAngel?ref=bookmarks

http://acessive.wix.com/enjaybutterfly#!bio/c1ktj

http://enjaytaylor.hubpages.com/hub/The-Seduction-of-Horror

https://www.facebook.com/groups/eroticahorrorlit/

One thought on “Author Interview with Enjay Taylor

Leave a Reply

