Cogs in Time – A review

Review time again! This is one review that I am SO excited to bring to you. Not only because you are going to love this anthology but also because one of my own stories will be featured in the follow on anthology to this one!

Since there is only one review for Cogs in Time for Australia, I thought I had better do my part in the reviewing stakes. I must say that when I picked up this book I was already excited, but after completing this anthology I am far more excited than I ever anticipated! The stories I read in this book are amazing! To say the very least. I am honoured to be reviewing it, and even more honoured to be offered a place in the next one!

Enough chit-chat for now, let’s get on with this review!

10406966_518093031654887_2502510788247975198_n

Go on an adventure through unheard of places in time and existence. Here in these remote areas, thriving cities, and secret worlds, a strange technological revolution reigns. Inside these pages inventors, dreamers, and revolutionist rule in worlds of steam driven machines, cog powered humanoids, clockwork miracles, and paranormal magic. Dressed in corsets, top hats, and cog lined finery the heroes and heroines face down immense obstacles as they take to the skies in airships, use incredible technology that is a mix between ancient and futuristic, and discover love.
Fifteen talented authors, artists and poets have come together in the must read anthology of 2014. The product of this collaboration is an incredible journey through a blend of sci-fi, fantasy, action, adventure, history, paranormal, and romance that embraces the roots of Steampunk while pushing the genre to new, bolder limits.

Stories by Catherine Stovall, Amanda Gatton (Illustrator), Robert Craven, Samantha Ketteman, Cindy J. Smith, Emma Michaels, Faith Marlow, Nina Stevens, Wayne Carey, Zoe Adams, MJ Baerman, Eada Janes, Andrea Staum, Deborah Dalton, SJ Davis, and Cecilia Clark.

Let me just say OH MY GOD there are some talented authors among this anthology, and if I had to choose a favourite story, I’d rather shoot myself in the foot.

Starting out with a beautifully executed poem by Catherine Stovall, I just knew that this anthology was going to be nothing but amazing, and I wasn’t let down!

Every single author, and every single story was perfect. I laughed, I cried, I was even scared! Nearly every aspect of steampunk has been covered in Cogs In Time. You could not get a more perfect collection of stories, and although every one is completely different to next, they all fit together amazingly.

The illustrations submitted for this collection are absolutely brilliant, and I wish I had half the talent that these artists do! The artwork saw my imagination soaring, and I was quite literally lost in my own mind staring at some of them.

I loved every minute of reading Cogs in Time, and I think it ended the only way it could! With a short story from SJ Davis, that was absolutely heart wrenching, had me reaching for the tissues and wanting more, more, MORE!

If you want to check the extraordinary talent that is woven throughout Cogs In Time, you can pick it up on amazon as an ebook or paperback. *Link at the end of blog*
Please remember that your reviews DO help, so if you like it give it some stars!

http://www.amazon.com/Cogs-Time-Anthology-Steamworks-Series-ebook/dp/B00HRGT6IC

 

One thought on “Cogs in Time – A review

Leave a comment