Joe Roper – Blog Stop Sale Event!

So today is blog stop day! As apart of sale celebrations, I’m so excited to bring you The Hunter Awakens – by Joe Roper again today. I recently read and reviewed The Hunter Awakens, and I was absolutely mesmerized by this story. Not only was I intrigued, amazed, and hooked on this book, I decided to read it with my daughter, who also feels the same way I do. And now you can own if for yourself for only .99c!

On today’s Blog Spot I’m going to tell you a little more about Joe Roper, The Hunter Awakens, where you can get it, and also will be including my original review.

Without further ado, let’s move on.

JRRoper

J.R. Roper is a teacher and writer living in Michigan with his lovely wife and kids. He has a passion for middle grade and young adult fantasy and is hard at work on his Morus Chronicles series. Horror is his favorite genre for short fiction and poetry. His abnormally high caffeine levels have been rumored to change vampires back to human form and there is a story floating around about him living in the belly of the dragon.

Oct Slam 2
Let’s learn a little more about Joe!
Author Interview:
What inspired you to write The Hunter Awakens? My younger sister told me to write. We were in Post-Potter Depression after The Deathly Hallows came out and I was searching for something magical so I began my own story.Do you have a specific writing style? I write freely for my first draft from a loose outline and then focus on plot and editing once the first draft is complete.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Good and evil are all around us and everyone is capable of both.

Are any of the experiences in The Hunter Awakens based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The setting is like the farm I grew up on. I always wanted to find a treasure on our property and discover that I had a special power.

What books have most influenced your life most?

The Count of Monte Cristo turned me on to reading. Harry Potter was the first series I loved and it pushed me to become a writer. Joseph Delaney’s Last Apprentice Series has filled the void since.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

British author Joseph Delaney.

What book are you reading now?

I Am Alice by Joseph Delaney.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I met and heard Daniel Jose Older this past summer. He is amazing and a rising star.

Are you currently working on anything?

I am editing book 2 in The Morus Chronicles and drafting a YA fantasy.

Name one person that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My publishing family has been amazing. Sarah Jayne Carr was the editor for my first short story publication and ever since has been a huge supporter. I love her.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nothing yet. I am sure I will get to Book 3 and wish I had planted an Easter egg somewhere.

How did your interest in writing originate?

Harry Potter turned me into a reader and I wanted to create something for others to love as much as I loved HP.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I never have enough time. I am a teacher, coach, husband, dad, and author. I need a few more hours each day.

Who designed the cover?

The amazing Rue Volley.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep improving. Take advice that makes sense and improves your writing. Fall in love with your story and characters but not your words because they will probably need to improve.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you and I love you.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing about The Hunter Awakens?

Perseverance and the belief that it was good enough despite dozens of rejections. It was six years from the time I typed THE END to the time I received an offer for publication.

Do you ever experience writer’s block? If so, how do you overcome it?

My energy level is my only block. I just set a 30 minute timer and write through it without thinking about what I am typing.

Do you write an outline before every book you write?

YES. But I know it will change over time. I outline every scene before I start it as well.

Have you ever hated something you wrote?

I wrote a horror story that is a little too gross for me.

What is your favorite theme/genre to write about?

I write fantasy and horror. I think I have a few mystery novels in me as well.

 

The Hunter Awakens:

51EGnD7XB5L._AA258_PIkin4,BottomRight,-40,22_AA280_SH20_OU35_
When thirteen-year-old Ethan Morus is forced to stay on his grandparent’s old farm, he expects to find weathered barns, rusty tools, and a creaky house in need of fresh paint. What he doesn’t expect is to hear a legend placing his family at the center of an ancient treasure hunt. Or find burial chambers protected by poltergeists, or a secret lair guarded by an ancient beast. And least of all, Ethan doesn’t suspect that powerful sorcerers are watching his every move. They’ve found Ethan and believe he is from a line of treasure hunters who possess a rare instinct to locate powerful artifacts. Whether he has the instinct or not, Ethan is faced with a choice—search the Morus property and find what they want or lose yet another family member.
October Slam Stairs 1

You can get your own copy of The Hunter Awakens here:
Available on Amazon: http://smarturl.it/TheHunterAwakens

Available on iBooks: http://smarturl.it/HunterAwakensibooks

Available on Kobo: http://smarturl.it/HunterAwakensKobo

And learn more about Joe, or just pop by for a chat here:

Website and Blog: http://joerroper.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorjrroper

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jrroper

Amazon: http://amazon.com/author/jrroper

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7154029.J_R_Roper

To view my original review of The Hunter Awakens click here:  https://nickylouiseloveslife.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/the-hunter-awakens-by-j-r-roper-a-review/

Leave a Reply

